Welcome To Ashley @ The Empty Bottle (8/26)

credit: novo.net

This review almost writes itself. If you take a look at the videos we took, you’ll see what I mean.

I broke a sweat just watching lead singer Coley Kennedy jump, slam, twitch and rock across every inch of the stage at The Empty Bottle. The man is a beast, demanding the attention of all in the crowd and forcing them to bask in his magnificence.

That last part may seem a bit hyperbolic, but believe me, until you’ve seen Welcome To Ashley live, you have no idea. I did not expect so much energy to be flying away from the stage and into the audience.

From their record, Beyond the Pale, I knew I was going to get a show with some really strong tunes that I could tap my toe/bob my head up and down to, but I didn’t expect to be blown away by the sheer awesomeness that Kennedy and co. brought to the stage.

The vocals were spot on, the bass and drum had perfect timing — save for a mishap with a cymbal that caused a slight pause in Jeremy Barrett’s finger pluckin’, but only long enough to resolve the issue — and then right back to it as if nothing had happened.

And Pete Javier was shredding so hard on his guitar, I thought the place might go up in flames if he didn’t bring it down a notch. Lucky for us he didn’t.

There isn’t much else that I can say that can’t be learned via video of the show, so I’ll let the moving images take it from here.

Extras:

Enjoy this review? Check out other Show Reviews on Chicago Tunes!

Welcome To Ashley performing “These Dreams of Mine”

Welcome To Ashley performing “What a Day it Was for Dying”

About joshterzino

Thank you, Chicago. Your population is as kind and warmhearted as I could hope for in a metropolis. The music, the food, the parks...it's everything a person could possibly want in a city they call home. I will forever be in your debt, Chicago. Let me know if you ever need anything.
This entry was posted in Show Review, The Empty Bottle, Video, Welcome To Ashley. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Welcome To Ashley @ The Empty Bottle (8/26)

  1. Pingback: Waxing Nostalgic: Coley Kennedy (Welcome To Ashley) takes on big mouth « Chicago Tunes

  2. Pingback: The Buddies @ Double Door 9/24 « Music. Defined.

Leave a Reply

