Zapruder Point – I Didn’t Want to Say Anything EP

credit: zapruderpoint.bandcamp.com

Band: Zapruder Point
Album: I Didn’t Want to Say Anything EP
Release Date: August 13, 2010

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I’m the kind of person that has a variety of go-to artists and songs for every situation; there are some artists that I can only listen to when it’s warm and sunny outside, whereas storms and cold nights have me reaching for something completely different.

This is one of the first things that struck me about Zapruder Point – I can picture playing this album while I’m driving with my friends on a summer afternoon, but it would also fit well during a blizzard on a December night. This versatility is just one of the many aspects of this album that makes it truly unique and enjoyable.

Zapruder Point is actually a one-man band formed by Dan Zapruder Phillips, who has been performing in the Chicago music scene for over a decade. This EP is composed of covers that were originally done by bands like The Killers (“When You Were Young”) and Oasis (“The Shock of the Lightning”), but Zapruder Point manages to cover them in such a deconstructed manner that it really makes you appreciate how different one song can sound when performed by two separate artists.

The songs that he covers on this EP are ones that we’ve all probably heard before, but when you listen to his version of them, you begin to appreciate how amazing these songs are once you remove all of the background noise in the original versions, and really allow the guitar and vocals to stand on their own. Dan injects so much emotion into his singing that the song itself becomes deeper and more meaningful through his voice.

The fact that Zapruder Point has been playing throughout Chicago for over a decade just shows that the Windy City is always full of surprises, and this is definitely one of them.

The music scene in general is so clogged with bands who rely on producers and background samples to carry their music, and the fact that Dan is able to create such an impact with little more than a guitar and an amazing set of pipes really demonstrates how genuine talent will always be able to stand on its own.

Extras:

  • Zapruder Point is a one-man band by Dan Zapruder Phillips, who has been recording and playing music throughout Chicago for over a decade.
  • I Didn’t Want to Say Anything is available free of charge on Zapruder Point’s Bandcamp page.
  • Zapruder Point is playing a show at Darkroom on September 9 with Fort Wilson Riot, Holyoke (formerly Where Astronauts Go To Hide) and The Benders. Tickets are $8.

Enjoy this review? Check out other Music Reviews on Chicago Tunes!

About Andrea Madden

I'm Andrea, I'm 26, and I'm earning my MBA in Marketing while also working full-time in the Marketing field. In my free time, I study improv at Second City, and I also do some volunteer work through local animal shelters. I'm a diehard animal lover (my cats, Sawyer and Finn, are my children), and I'm also a huge video game addict (I own 11 systems and counting). My goal in life is to become a music journalist and own my own magazine. My favorite bands include Anberlin, Jimmy Eat World, Lily Allen, and anything 80's...especially the song "Your Love" by The Outfield, which is my FAVORITE song of all time. Anyways, hope to talk to you soon!
This entry was posted in Music Review, Zapruder Point. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zapruder Point – I Didn’t Want to Say Anything EP

  1. Pingback: Fort Wilson Riot, Holyoke, Zapruder Point, The Benders @ Darkroom (9/9) | Chicago Tunes

Leave a Reply

