Chaperone @ Subterranean; or, Jon Drake and The Shakes Plus Eight

I’m thinking of putting a little Chaperone logo in the corner of every post that I do. Or maybe just having a constant link to their site from ours.

It’s got to the point where I don’t really have anything new to say about their live shows. Everyone knows how I feel about them by now. Last night didn’t deter my feelings about them at all.

I was impressed, however, with their temporary drummer. After two practices he seemed to know what he was doing the majority of the time. Which is a shame. I was hoping for a moment where he made like Tom Everett Scott in That Thing You Do. Just completely change the tempo of a song and drive the lead singer crazy.

Unfortunately, that did not happen. Instead we got a show very similar to the one we went to at The Hideout. Shaun seemed a bit looser on guitar and at the mic, which was nice. Shaylah seemed to be singing in a lower octave at times, which I thought sounded good and changed things up a little.

Their set ended, and I was excited to catch the next band, Jon Drake and The Shakes. I’d heard about them and know several people that like them, so it was nice to finally have a chance to see them.

As the band meandered onto the stage in waves, it was hard to tell if this was one group, or if there was some kind of We Are The World benefit going on. Seriously, this band has like 31 members.

Which means that the soundcheck takes FOREVER! I heard In The Aeroplane Over The Sea in it’s entirety before the band was ready to start. That part was ok for me, actually. I was a bit annoyed that they needed to soundcheck every instrument. Hello, it’s Subterranean, not Chicago Theatre. You can soundcheck all you want, the trombone, trumpet, violin, cello, and mandolin aren’t going to sound quite right. This place was built for speed.

After three songs, we left. They weren’t terrible songs, but not enough to keep me watching, either. There seems to be a lot going on with those 44 people up there, but really, it’s a singer/songwriter with a lot of accompaniment. I thought of two bands when I was listening to these guys: Ryan Adams and the Cardinals and the Dave Matthews Band. Those two things should NEVER be mixed together.

Never.

About joshterzino

Thank you, Chicago. Your population is as kind and warmhearted as I could hope for in a metropolis. The music, the food, the parks...it's everything a person could possibly want in a city they call home. I will forever be in your debt, Chicago. Let me know if you ever need anything.
This entry was posted in Chaperone!, Jon Drake and the Shakes, Josh Terzino, Show Review, Subterranean. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

