I’m So Excited I’m Shaking

By Josh Terzino
Staff Writer

So I’m sitting here at St. David’s Historical Sanctuary in Austin, Texas. We got here about an hour and a half ago, and when we arrived, Josh Ritter was doing his soundcheck. It was awesome. I mean, seriously it was like watching a whole solo set almost.

Afterward we were hanging in the foyer waiting to be allowed entrance into the stage area, and Josh Ritter appeared from the back. Impulsively I shouted his name. He may have assumed that I was a stalker (not entirely wrong), but he smiled and shook my hand anyway. He looked down and saw Kari, jaw on the floor, gazing up in awe. He gave her a big grin and lowered his hand to shake hers.

It was a moment that superfans like us never forget. He asked if we were gonna stay for the show, and I told him that because he was playing, we would stay for the whole show. He said thanks, and walked away. Headed down the stairs he looked and said, “See you guys later on.” What a great fucking guy.

Earlier in the day we did an interview conducted by Miles of Chaperone. Andrew Belle came off as a really nice guy, and Miles did a bang up job. I might have to ask him if he wants to join us full-time.

We also caught up with Canadian duo Imaginary Cities. The interview got a little noisy toward the end, but they seem like interesting folks. Their debut album Temporary Resident is available on iTunes Canada, and will be available here shortly. You can also grab it from their website.

Both those videos will be up later tonight, I hope. The internet in Austin is a funny thing.

After the interviews, we headed over to see Okkervil River. They only got to play for thirty minutes because everyone else ran long. Apparently the headlining band of a show during the day gets no say in the matter.

Regardless, they rocked. I had never seen them live, but they’ve been creeping up the ranks of my favorite bands. They played my two favorites, “Unless It’s Kicks” and “For Real.” They also played a few of the new songs, all of them awesome.

It’s so freaking hot down here. We stopped in a sports bar to watch some basketball and I had something called a Frito Pie…If you’ve ever had a Buffrito, you know how delicious that is.

That’s it for now. I’m uploading these videos at the church we are sitting in, so hopefully their internet is better than our hotels.

More at the end of the night.

About joshterzino

Thank you, Chicago. Your population is as kind and warmhearted as I could hope for in a metropolis. The music, the food, the parks...it's everything a person could possibly want in a city they call home. I will forever be in your debt, Chicago. Let me know if you ever need anything.
This entry was posted in Josh Terzino. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’m So Excited I’m Shaking

  1. Norann says:

    I’m so madly jealous of you and Kari right now.
    And I also absolutely love Okkervil River. I feel like I am in a music drought here in Madison compared to you!

Leave a Reply

