A Final Post on SxSw

By Josh Terzino
Staff Writer

If you couldn’t tell by my postings thus far, we had a great time at the festival down in Austin. Now that I’m back, and it’s not even close to spring-like, I find myself missing the mucky sweat that covered me for most of my time in Texas.

I thought I’d put together a little compilation of things that we saw down there that we haven’t shown yet. Obviously the interviews were the main draw for us, but there was so much more. If you haven’t had the chance to see any of the interviews yet, click here to find yourself in a treasure trove of information on artists like Ezra Furman, K Flay, and Dastardlyamong others.

First off, I wanted to throw up these videos of Okkervil River from the Under the Radar party. I don’t know how under the radar these guys are anymore, but I think they rule. The first video is my favorite song that they do, “Unless It’s Kicks.” The second is “Our Life Is Not A Movie, But Maybe.”

After that we checked out a great set by Bhi Bhiaman. Unfortunately I did not get any video footage. I DO have some stuff from the Ritter show that followed, but it is currently in a huge file that runs 32 minutes because we just turned on the camera and let it record audio without getting the visual part of the show.

On Saturday we got up early to make it over to Chaperone‘s showcase performance at The Jackalope. This was a great show, and here’s some video evidence:

After that we went and did our interviews, which, again, you can find elsewhere. On our way back to catch Dastardly, I popped in to the bar next door to see Ezra Furman play a couple songs. I was stuck in the back, so the video that I got isn’t great. After the interview he gave me, and listening to his new record, I hardly needed any convincing anyway. Here he is playing the song “We Should Fight” with his band The Harpoons:

Then we moseyed over to the Jackalope to witness the most insanely CF’d set of the fest. Even though they didn’t get to play a real set, it was still fantastic. My favorite part of this video isn’t even the song…it’s Miles from Chaperone screaming the lyrics along with Gabe. “Sometimes I want to tryyyyyyyyyy, but most times I disappear with the blink of an eyyyyyyyyyyyye.” If I had turned the camera just a little bit you would see Shaun doing the exact same. Something about seeing the way these two bands enjoy one another is very heartwarming. I hope that all the bands in Chicago have someone they can rely on as much as these two can on one another.

Finally, here are some pictures that Kari took at the Reggie’s showcase. Some pretty good shots here.

About joshterzino

Thank you, Chicago. Your population is as kind and warmhearted as I could hope for in a metropolis. The music, the food, the parks...it's everything a person could possibly want in a city they call home. I will forever be in your debt, Chicago. Let me know if you ever need anything.
This entry was posted in Chaperone!, Dastardly, Ezra Furman, Josh Terzino, k.flay, Music Review, Video. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

