Free Event on Saturday At Saki!

Hey guys, I just wanted to highlight a free show going on tomorrow at Saki Record Store. A couple bands that are friends of the site will be playing in the afternoon, and it should be an awesome time.

The show starts at two with Holdfast. They started out at DePaul and have an EP called Like The Sun that I told them I would have reviewed today, but obviously don’t. I have listened to it and I like it, but I haven’t given it enough spins yet to really review. Let’s just say it’s a rock record, and if you enjoy good music, you’ll probably like it. If you’re a fan of either of the next two bands, I’d say check out Holdfast.

Playing second is Island of Misfit Toys. They’ve been written up enough times that I don’t need to give you my thoughts on their release, but they seem cool. They’re working on their second piece now, and to promote it band leader Anthony Sanders is recording acoustic demos on a 4-track recorder upon request. All you have to do is send him an email asking for one, and he’ll hook you up with 9 original songs and 1 cover. You can request which songs he records for you and everything. It’s a great idea. Ezra Furman tried it with his last release, and came damn close to getting every single one of them done. I think he said 135 out of about 150 or something. Impressive.

Headlining the bill is Warm Ones. Now, if you’ve read the site here, you know that Eric and I both dig these guys. Particularly Tony Sackett’s stage presence. He just totally has that thing where you just want to watch him to see what he’s going to do next. He’s also taking part in the fantastic series Waxing Nostalgic, which I embarassed myself with yesterday.

It’s gonna be great and it’s free. Can’t argue with that. Saki is also having a Record Store Day party on April 16th that Chaperone will be playing. But more on that later.

Saki is located at 3716 W Fullerton Ave in Logan Square. The store opens at noon, the show starts at 2 and ends at 5. Come check it out. Even if you end up not enjoying the music, you can grab all those albums you’ve been putting off buying, like Josh Ritter’s So Runs The World Away.

About joshterzino

Thank you, Chicago. Your population is as kind and warmhearted as I could hope for in a metropolis. The music, the food, the parks...it's everything a person could possibly want in a city they call home. I will forever be in your debt, Chicago. Let me know if you ever need anything.
This entry was posted in Music Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

