Kodacrome — ‘The Bug’

Band: Kodacrome
Album: Perla EP
Release Date: March 27, 2012

It seems the stuff of When Clouds Attack was more affecting than I’d thought. That Chicago-based band’s debut album, Young Blood, was discussed here earlier in the month and might have been the first album of its kind to be featured in these pages.

As I put it then: “I’ve listened to [When Clouds Attack’s] Young Blood often, and I’ve swung around to embrace that I am, I guess, so taken by a troupe so dependent on electronic buzzes.”

Only a few weeks have passed since that review, and again I am, I guess, so taken by a troupe so dependent on electronic buzzes.

I don’t think I’m as enthusiastic about Kodacrome’s Perla than I had been for When Clouds Attack’s Young Blood, but the EP’s lead-off, “The Bug,” seemed like it deserved a shot of attention, at least. It and “Robbery” are the only tracks I’ve repeatedly listened to, really.

So what about “The Bug”? It’s a kick up from the soothers on Young Blood, but staves off the kind of aggressive hop you’d probably expect from the creatives experimenting in electronics. (Sidebar: I dislike “electronic” as a genre about as much as I do “garage.” I won’t use it again in this post).

“The Bug” is a tune with delicate turns, and delicate transitions into those turns, thereby bunny hugging with a kind of calm in lieu of rocketing off into the rowdier places that synths sometimes takes us to.

I’m responding to “The Bug,” I think, because it doesn’t overwhelm.

“Robbery” was mentioned, too. Lively finale:

Extras:

  • The New York-based Kodacrome is Elissa Pociask (vocals, synth), Ryan Casey (synth, drums, vocals) and Phil DaRosa (guitar, vocals).
  • Pay what you want for the Perla EP. | Bandcamp

Enjoy this? There are plenty more Music Reviews on Chicago Tunes.
Hey: Like Chicago Tunes on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.
Stream all the music you’ve heard here in one convenient place on Hype Machine.

About Eric

Hello there. Email your things to chicagotunes[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Kodacrome, Song Review. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

