Thin Hymns — ‘Cast Aside’

A short time ago I wrote about the new Mazes song, “Peace Can Do No Wrong” (I think it divine, truly), and footnoted the piece with a link to supplemental information about their free Empty Bottle show on the 13th.

I think I would have been there, but I was out of town and missed it. Before I left, though, I reviewed who shared the bill with Mazes.

Birthmark was written about here by Josh a good time ago. The other, Thin Hymns, was new to me.

Since then I’ve listened to “Cast Aside” often. It’s track one of six on an EP Thin Hymns released a year ago. “Cast Aside” is sonically minimalist in the Beach House way. The bands’ lead vocals seem comparable, too.

Here:

Extras:

  • The Chicago-based Thin Hymns is Michael Hilger, Justin Fernandez, Michael Gillilan, Kyle Vegter and Ben Babbitt. | Facebook
  • Thin Hymns plays The Burlington on Monday, August 27 with Deep Sleep and Daredevil Christopher Wright. Five-dollar donation.

Enjoy this? There are plenty more Song Reviews on Chicago Tunes.
Hey: Like Chicago Tunes on Facebook, or follow on Twitter.
Stream all the music you’ve heard here in one convenient place on Hype Machine.

About Eric

Hello there. Email your things to chicagotunes[at]gmail[dot]com.
This entry was posted in Song Review, Thin Hymns. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

